2023 JK tyre National Racing Championship results: Alva wins LBG F4 title


Abhishek Vasudev takes home title in the Royal Enfield Continental GT Cup.

MSport’s Ruhaan Alva clinched the LGB Formula 4 title as the 2023 edition of the JK Tyre National Racing Championship (JK NRC) wrapped up at the Kari Motor Speedway.

Arjun S. Nair won the Novice Cup title, while Abhishek Vasudev took overall victory in the Royal Enfield Continental GT Cup. On the back of a dominant season, Sarvesh Balappa also sealed the JK Tyre 250 Cup title.

  • Arjun S. Nair  wins Novice Cup title
  • Sarvesh Balappa takes clean sweep in JK Tyre 250 Cup

LGB Formula 4

The opening day of action saw Ruhaan Alva, Arya Singh and Tijil Rao score a race win each. Alva initially ended the day with a 20-points lead over Singh, which would have been enough to seal the title, but the points table was revised following an investigation into the previous round.

A post-event scrutiny resulted in Alva, along with a bunch of Momentum Motorsport drivers in the Novice Cup, having their Round 2 points docked. As a result, the championship battle went down to the very last race. Rao won the race, but Alva went from P8 to P2, which was enough for him to seal the title with a final tally of 82 points.

“I feel great to have got the title. It was a crazy final race. Diljith [TS, Dark Don Racing] and I were involved in a great battle went neck to neck. He tried to hold me up for some time but I managed to cut a corner to come in second,” said Alva.

Singh and his Dark Don Racing teammate Rao are tied for second place overall, with 71 points each.

JK Tyre Novice Cup

With four race wins this season, Arjun S. Nair secured the JK Tyre Novice Cup title with a total of 82 points. His Momentum Motorsport teammate Neythan McPherson (53 points) defeated DTS Racing’s Joel Joseph (44 points) to finish second overall.

Royal Enfield Continental GT Cup

The Royal Enfield Continental GT Cup features a grid of both amateur and professional racers competing astride race-prepped Continental GT-R650s. Bengaluru riders dominated the points table, with Abhishek Vasudev (54 points) clinching the title from Jagadeesh Nagara (45 points) and Ullas S. Nanda (39 points).

JK Tyre 250 Cup

Sarvesh Balappa took a clean sweep in the JK Tyre 250 Cup, which features competitors racing on Suzuki Gixxer 250cc bikes. Having won all three races this season, he was crowned champion, with Sachin Jothees second and S. Govidharaj third.

Also see:

F4 India debuts in Chennai; Webster makes strong start



Leave a comment